Ex. 4.5 – Graphs of Gradient Functions (and the end of Chapter 4!)

I loved this exercise! Even though it required the drawing of graphs (one of my pet hates), it only had 5 questions! (Big one of these 🙂 )

Also, make sure that you don’t forget parent teacher interviews this week!

I thought I would leave you with this quote by George Bernard Shaw, a famous Irish playwright and composer (1856-1950) who was awarded both the Nobel Prize for Literature (1925) and an Oscar (1938). During a 1907 lecture he was giving he said:

“I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder I work the more I live.
I rejoice in life for its own sake. Life is no ‘brief candle’ to me.
It is a sort of splendid torch which I have got hold of for the moment;
and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it on to future generations.”

Does what he said have anything at all to do with what you do in Maths Methods this year? Does how you tackle this subject, this year, bear any connection to whether or not your life may be a “splendid torch”?

4 thoughts on “Ex. 4.5 – Graphs of Gradient Functions (and the end of Chapter 4!)

  1. There’s a soul of an English teacher in you somewhere. It beats Macbeth’s ‘out brief candle’. Lincoln said ‘And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.’

    Like

  2. I have read a few Lincoln quotes, but not seen anything chiastic from him before. Here is a chiasmus by Daniel Defoe that might possibly fit … ummmm … let me think for a moment … well let’s randomly pick … umm … say an outstanding English teacher who has moved to the private system. Defoe said, “It is better to have a lion at the head of an army of sheep than a sheep at the head of an army of lions.” There is the soul of a lion in you Louise; keep it strong, pounding in your chest, and keep the faith. I know you know what I am talking about 🙂 Keep your “splendid torch” burning brightly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

