Why Facebook makes me want to SCREAM!

Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a CC-BY-SA License.
Based on a work at Wikimedia Commons.

I really, really hate this! Right on my News Feed one of my friends has posted this stupid picture. I want to ignore it, but if I don’t click LIKE then all my friends are going to think that I don’t care about them!

Why do people, including my friends (who I deeply care about by the way), keep doing this to me? One reason is something called EdgeRank!

The higher your EdgeRank the more people will see your updates. EdgeRank is calculated using the formula below. Facebook applies this to your News Feed updates to determine what will appear in your News Feed and how close to the top it will be placed. Yes, when it comes to your Facebook updates, it would seem that mathematics rules!

The higher your personal EdgeRank the more people will see your updates. That’s why, when one of your friends clicks “like” on the Continental Cup a Soup Facebook page, you will then see this at the very top of your News Feed! One of my friends actually did this! Grrrrrrr…. I mean WHY would anyone do that? Personally I like Cup a Soup, but I really don’t care if my friends like it or not! The only reason my friend “liking” Cup-a-soup appears high on my News Feed is because Facebook has given Continental Cup a Soup a very high EdgeRank. So Facebook is deciding for me that posts from Continental Cup a Soup are more important to me than posts from my friends! Well Mr Facebook, I want to make this quite clear to you, THEY ARE NOT!

I think that it is ME who should be able to decide what is important to me and what is not! Who do Facebook think that they are to make such decisions for me?

How do you feel about this? Should Facebook and businesses be able to use EdgeRank to dominate your News Feed? Should our friends be trying to increase their EdgeRank by using tricks like posting stuff that makes you look bad if you don’t click “like”? Is EdgeRank a good thing or a bad thing? What do you think?


Read on only if you are interested in how the EdgeRank formula works: Every action within Facebook (eg. clicking “like”, commenting, posting a picture, sharing etc.) is assigned a ‘U’ value, a ‘W’ value and a ‘D’ value (see below). These values are multiplied together to give what is called an “edge” value. The edge values of all your Facebook actions are added together to give your personal edge ranking.

U = Affinity: the value given to how closely two users interact. It is based upon how often they engage in commenting, tagging, liking, status updates, sharing , messaging and so on. The more that two users interact, the higher the U value.

W = Weight: the value given to different types of actions within Facebook. For example, it requires more effort to write a comment than clicking on like and so commenting has a greater weight value. Uploading lots of pictures or videos will give an even higher W value.

D = Time Decay: is the age of a Facebook action. For example, new comments or picture uploads will have a higher D value than old content. This ensures that your News Feed is refreshed new content and that old content doesn’t hang around too long!

29 thoughts on “Why Facebook makes me want to SCREAM!

  1. I personally think that the edgerank thing on facebook is a bad idea, because it is forcing you do to something that you don’t want to do, but if you don’t do it your friends would get hurt, and it puts you in an uncomfortable situation where you don’t know what to do. Firstly facebook should’nt be able to dominate our newsfeed and put what is apparently edgeranked higher on the top of my newsfeed because how are they supposed to know if I like something or not, and put me in an uncomfortable situation. If I ever made a website like facebook I wouldn’t make something like tha aswell.

    Like

  2. Edgeranking annoys me too Devleta. I would disable it if I had the option to do so. However, I suppose that Facebook might argue that since they are providing their service for free then they can do what they like. Maybe this is a bit tricky with several layers to consider?

    Like

  3. I find this a controversial topic due to the several layers of arguing points that have been put forward, however i believe that half of the people don’t comment or rank it they just scan through the posts and therefore Edgeranking doesnt bother me.

    Like

  4. I think edgerank is a bad idea because if you post something up that is very important to you and not to the Edgetank it will put it towards the bottom.

    Like

  5. I agree that I think that Edgerank takes advantage of you so that they can bother you with annoying advertisements. Even though the advertisements are supposed to persuade you, i think they do the total opposite and get you not to like it the product they are selling. With the pictures and how they say “Like if you care about your friends” I just normally ignore them as I know they are just pictures and these pictures are meaningless.

    Like

    • Actually James, I have noticed that they use the same pictures of people in a wide range of advertisements. It’s a free application and the people who own Facebook/administer it have to be paid for their work somehow. It does seem like we are getting more and more stuff thrown at us when we go online though. I imagine the issue spoken about in the post would be much more of a problem for people who are less choosey about who they “friend” and have hundreds of Facebook “friends”.

      Like

  6. I think Edgerank is a bad idea as it gives a person a reason to spam for they might want their comments to be seen.

    But on the other hand some people might be putting some really worthy posts like ‘the fight to stop cancer’ and many other important news which is actually good to read.

    Like

  7. personally i have not been on facebook but it sounds pretty bad, actully thretining people to like your photo is not a good thing and it scares some people and others it just makes them go nuts it really is a stuipid thing to do and people should know that.

    Like

  8. Face book, its frustrating and I dont like it, I only use it to talk to friends and express my self, and those pictures of “like if you love your friends” are full of crap, just like “like for heavan, ignore for hell” because liking the billions of photo alike will change anything.

    Like

  9. I agree with you mr thwaites!! they should get rid of edgerank because its up to the person if they want to have their posts to go to other peoples on top of their notifications

    Like

  10. I totally agree! It’s annoying enough that we are subjected to “suggested post”, I don’t get why people like totally stupid things. Continental Soups, 7 11, The Pancake Parlour and don’t get me started on Justin Bieber.

    Like

  11. The whole edgerank thing doesnt really bother me that much because I think whoever makes the risk to make an FB in the first place will have to put up with stuff like that. (Bad dicision FaceBookers).

    Like

  12. Completely agree! It’s maddening enough that we are exposed to “recommended post”, I don’t get why people like entirely stupid things. They frustrate me with the stupid ideas of “like if you love your mum” of course majority of people love their mum, so why make a quotation about something that is obvious, it just doesn’t make sense, People on “ social media act differently compared to real life events.

    Like

  13. I totally agree! i hate how it tries to portray that you only love someone if you re-post such a stupid photo. Why force someone to repost something or they will die or for someone to live. Its is so pointless and stupid

    Like

  14. I think it is an absolute joke, everybody loves three mum and liking a status doesn’t make any difference, people do it so they can get likes because they know everyone loves their mum

    Like

  15. This is probably one of the reasons why I don’t have and don’t like facebook. Also, for the people who do have facebook, do you really have to like a post? I mean, if they’re your true friend, surely a like on facebook won’t destroy your relationship.

    Like

  16. I think trying to get a person to like a picture because they love their friends is quite ridiculous. Yes, everyone loves their friends and families and a liking a picture or not liking a picture doesn’t determine that.

    Like

  17. everytime i log into facebook and scroll down my news feed i see multiple “like this if you —-“, it gets really annyoing especially when it comes to “like this if you love god, ignore this if you love satan” with me being an athiest i don’t believe in this but i still dont love satan just because i ignored a post that has nothing to do with me.

    Like

    • I like the point you make here Brodie about feeling like you are being forced into making a choice that you have no interest in. I don’t like football, but I don’t hate it either – I am just disinterested in it. We all have things like this. It is good to realise that sometimes be made to feel we have to make a choice by voting is actually about manipulating us into voting so that someone else gets their Edgeranking increased. You really are being used.

      Like

  18. I believe you should be able to choose what appears on your news feed and not leave it down to some system known as edge rank. There is so many settings at the start of setting up a account I’m sure most people wouldnt mind doing 20 seconds of settings just to make sure they are actually seeing what they want and not what facebook wants.

    Like

  19. I think that liking a picture or not liking the picture doesn’t make a difference because its ONLY a picture and true relationships are not based on liking a picture or not its more than that.

    Like

  20. I dislike these type of things on my Facebook as well. In my opinion I think we should just ignore these types of memes and just go on with our lives. If you think about it the more you “like” the pictures the more popular it gets, the more popular it gets the more you will see on your news feed. Problem solved 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

