How can you identify a slave?

Today, March 25th, is International Day of Remembrance of the Victims of Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade.

For over 400 years it is estimated that over 15 million people were captured and forcibly taken from Africa to be slaves in England, Europe and both North and South America. English, Spanish, French, Dutch, Germans, Italians, Americans and others all practiced slavery and perpetuated unspeakable cruelty on their fellow humans. These countries all officially ended slavery one or two centuries ago (Brazil 125 years ago, USA 150 years ago, France 220 years ago).
Picture source: United Nations Dept. of Public Information

Sadly though there are still slaves. Human slavery and trafficking does exist, even here in Australia! You might even know a slave without realising it. How could you tell? What makes a person a slave? What are the signs to look out for? What should you do if you meet someone who you think might be a slave?

Click the link to watch the video Slavery Happens Here on the Anti-slavery Australia website to find out.

“It’s estimated that 27 million people across the world could be considered slaves, and the industry of slavery and people trafficking, makes $US32 billion a year.”Modern day slavery, ABC Radio National Transcript October 17, 2009 That is almost double the number of people who were taken from Africa during the slave trade!


Slavery today is worse than in the past!


Did you think that slavery was history? Did you know there are slaves in Australia today? Could you identify a slave if you met one? What would you do if you suspected someone you met was a slave?”

23 thoughts on “How can you identify a slave?

  1. Wow I never knew slavery was still around and worst then ever.
    I’m not sure if I could pick out a slave or not. If I ever met/suspected a slave I would alert the police.
    I find it hard to believe there is slavery in Australia. I thought that Australia was better than that.

    Like

  2. slavery isnt right and if someone were a slave i dont think he/she would not want to be a slave their whole life and you only live once and i dont think a slave would want to waste their life on some rich guy so yeah.

    Like

  3. oh ok..I think that slavery was history and I don’t think I could identify a slave today because I think they would dress them differently. I would treat them exactly the same.

    Like

  4. Reconising a slave would not be difficult, you would automatically notice that other people would be looking down at this civillian, the so called owners of this civvian may be getting them to hold the shopping bags when they go to the shops, or they might be getting them to push the trolley at the grocery store and one of the saddest things you might notice about this poor civvian is that they would not be happy. they would wish for freedom.

    If there is a slave in australia i would think that the great people australia would alert the polie to get the owners in trouble, and also calling one of the theve very nice charitys and foundations to help the slave to give them a new life with freedom

    Like

  5. I thought slavery was history and did not occur in the present until I watched a video in humanities last year. The video showed how trafficking children still happens in many parts of Africa, all to make chocolate. It would be hard to identify a slave mainly because they look like the average human being therefore they blend in, like they say you know their name not their story. I would never even imagine that there are still slaves in Australia, due to how peaceful the country is. A slave is a person who is forced to work for someone or a company, slaves also gets little pay or no pay at all. It just shows that history can still make an impact on the present.

    Like

  6. I knew that there was slavery but I never thought that it would be in Australia. I thought that it will take place in countries that are struggling. I don’t think that I could identify a slave if I met one because these days there are so many people that do these businesses behind closed doors and so it would be difficult if you didn’t know who they really are when they are masked.

    Like

  7. Its a pretty possible chance slaves still exist. I don’t think slavery is worst than the pas as in the past it wasn’t illegal and nearly every rich household has a slave. Now days since slavery is illegal slavery shouldn’t be happenening. But that doesn’t mean t hat the world is slave free. There would be at least 100 hundred slaves still existing in the world (more in developing countries) and the world has a populationg of 7.074 billion so their is no doubt that that slaves still exist

    I don’t think I could recongnise a slave as your don’t know how they act for…

    The slave could act just like a free person and could look similar to a slave.

    Like

  8. To tell the truth…
    I honestly thought slavery didn’t exist here in Australia, other countries maybe, but here?
    I’m against slavery, it’s sick, especially the way they are treated. They don’t treat them as humans, but rather like an animal, which they are defiently not.
    As for is slavery is history?
    I guess it is because great civilisations like Rome, well majority of it was buildt by slaves. The American Civil War? Some of it had to do with slaves as well.
    If I met a slave today I would find a way to free them. They don’t deserve that kind of treatment, they are living, they are human.

    Like

  9. I knew that there was slavery in the world but I never would’ve guessed that Australia had slaves. I thought Australia was a free country, but I don’t think that I would be able to identify a slave today because everything has changed so I am guessing that the slaves would look somehow different then the ones that we have seen from pictures from the past. If I suspected that someone was a slave I would try to somehow bring up the topic of slavery and see their reaction and if possible offer them a solution to their problem like telling the police.

    Like

  10. I understand that there was slavery but I never thought that it would be in Australia. I thought that it will take place in nations that are pugnacious. I don’t think that I could classify a slave if I met one because these days there are so many people that do these trades behind shut doors and so it would be tough if you didn’t know who they really are when they are masked

    Like

  11. I never thought there would be any slaves in Australia, I knew that struggling countries would have slave but never thought Australia would be one. i don’t think i would identify a slave in Australia. I have never seen any slaves in Australia but I emagin them having older clothes and they would always have an upset expression on their face. If i ever identify any slave, I would treat them with great respect and make them feel good about themselves. A slave is a person that is forced to serve someone without getting paid.

    Like

  12. I wouldn’t think that there are slaves in Australia in this era but there is no way of definelty telling and meeting a slave would be shocking to see. A ‘slave’ could be a typical person you see on the street and you may never tell the difference.

    Like

  13. Having to know slavery did existed in the past but never thought that slavery existed in Australia. Slavery is isn’t right being forced to work and be treated like a lower form creature. It needs to stop.

    Like

  14. People deserve to be free, despite the color of the skin, gender, or sexual preference. We’re all humans and are all equal, using someone as a slave hurts humanity, more importantly, hurts the person who’s serving as the slave. That person could potentially become someone important to the world, holding them in captivity could make us miss out on something special.

    Like

  15. Personally, I think it’s hard to beleive that slavery is still apart of any first world country, with todays technology, can’t people be able to accomplish things without the use of slaves, and also shouldnt police be more involved in tracking down sites with slavery.

    Like

  16. i wouldnt have thought that slavery existed in australia during these times. But you wouldn’t be able to tell who is a slave, it could be someone you walk past on the street, the typical person. Its terrible to think that some people think is acceptable to treat another human beings like some are treat, no better than dirt. Its dispicable and needs to stop.

    Like

  17. I do not beleive slavery is history because it is still occuring in todays society and could possibly be in our communities. I have seen movies relating on slavery and the existance of human trafficing but i did not beleive that this sort of thing could be occuring in our the ‘free country’ we live in. i do not beleive that i personally could identify a slave because i would beleive it was just another human being walking the street next to me i dont think they would wear any different clothes they would be made to fit in so no attention would be given. If i suspected someone was involved in slavery or was a slave i would want to make sure first then i would pass on my finding to the police and let them be notified.

    Like

  18. It is really sad to see that slavery still exists in some countries. It is even sadder to hear that slavery is even here in Australia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

